Assam’s New Cabinet announced, Departments assigned


A day after Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma and 13 other Cabinet Ministers were sworn in at Srimanta Sankardev Kalakshetra, ministries have already been assigned to them.

CM Biswa Sarma will be looking after the departments of Home, Personnel, PWD and any other department that remains unallocated.

Ranjit Kumar Dass has been assigned Panchayat and Rural Development, Public Engineering, Food and Civil Supplies and Consumer Affairs.

Atul Bora from the AGP will retain the departments of Agriculture, Horticulture, Animal Husbandry and Veterinary, and additionally, Border Area Development as well. As per reports, he will also be looking over the implementation of the Assam Accord and Cooperation as well.

Urkhao Gwra Brahma is to look after Handloom & Textile, Soil Conservation, Welfare of Plain Tribe & Backward Classes (BTC)

Chandra Mohan Patowary has been assigned the departments of Transport, Industries & Commerce, Skill Development and Welfare of Minorities.

Barak Valley’s only MLA to be given a Cabinet Ministry, Parimal Suklabaidya gets the departments of Environment & Forests, Fisheries and Excise.

Keshab Mahanta from the AGP takes over the department of Health and Family Welfare from Himanta Biswa Sarma. He has been additionally put in charge of Science & Technology and Information Technology departments.

Ranuj Pegu too takes over the Ministry of Education from Sarma. She will also be looking after the departments of Welfare of Plain Tribe & Backward Classes (non-BTC)

Ashok Singhal has been assigned the Guwahati Development, Urban Development and Irrigation departments.

Jogen Mohan has been put in charge of Revenue & Disaster Management, Hills Area Development, Mines and Minerals.

Sanjay Kishan is set to lead the departments of Welfare of Tea Tribes, Labour and Employment.

Ajanta Neog will be taking over Social Welfare and Finance.

Pijush Hazarika has been entrusted with Water Resources, Information & Public Relations and Parliamentary Affairs.

Finally, Bimal Bora has been given the Sports & Youth Welfare, Cultural Affairs, Power, Tourism departments.

CM Sarma, at the press meet after the swearing in, had said that this government will be at service at all hours of the day.

Digbijoy Ghose

Digbijoy Ghose

Total 32 Posts. View Posts

About us

In the age of print and electronic media, the veracity of news need a bias-free enterprise/ initiation. Tedious news bytes no longer accrue the common people’s attention. With an objective to delineate the inside news from global corners, “BARTALIPI DIGITAL” has entered the ground of digital journalism. The title blend itself is self-explanatory of its target and aim. Features, newsflash all synced in one platform thereby, gives a promising aura to the netizens of Barak valley. BARTALIPI DIGITAL hence, vows to meet the digital balance which will mark it off as a news organization in the era of digital evolution..

Follow Us