CM Himanta Biswa Sarma takes oath along with 13 others

13 others were sworn in as Cabinet Ministers for the state.

After much speculation for almost a week after the election results were declared, Himanta Biswa Sarma was chosen as the Chief Ministerial candidate for the BJP in Assam. Earlier on May 9, former Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal had submitted his resignation to the Governor of Assam Jagdish Mukhi and had gracefully handed over the baton to Sarma.

On Monday, May 10, Himanta Biswa Sarma, at the age of 52, took oath as the 15th Chief Minister of Assam. 13 others were also sworn in as Cabinet Ministers for the state. The oath taking ceremony was held at Srimanta Sankardev Kalakshetra. Governor Jagdish Mukhi administered the oath of office and secrecy to Sarma as the new Chief Minister of Assam.

These 13 Cabinet Ministers include AGP President Atul Bora, Assam BJP President Ranjeet Kumar Dass and UPPL’s founder president UG Brahma. Parimal Suklabaidya, Keshab Mahanta, Chandramohan Patowary, Sanjay Kishan, Pijush Hazarika and Jogen Mahan will continue to serve as Cabinet Ministers in this term as well. Former Congress Minister Ajanta Neog who won the Golaghat seat again on a BJP ticket also gets a Cabinet position. Finally, there’s also Ashok Singhal, Ranoj Pegu and Bimal Bora. Parimal Suklabaidya is the only MLA from Barak Valley to get a Cabinet Ministry. However, departments assigned to the Cabinet Ministers haven’t been confirmed yet.

In the 2021 Assam Assembly elections, the BJP led alliance Mitrajot won 75 seats out of 126. The BJP got 60 while the AGP and UPPL got 9 and 6 respectively. Earlier on May 8, Himanta Biswa Sarma and Sarbananda Sonowal had flown to New Delhi for a decision to be made on the Chief Ministerial post. Later, the BJP Legislature Party met in Guwahati to elect Sarma as the new Chief Minister.

Sarma had earlier been a part of the Congress for 20 years and had also held important cabinet ministry positions during the Tarun Gogoi terms. He quit the Congress in 2015 and joined the BJP. For the last five years during Sonowal's Chief Ministership, Sarma held key portfolios - Finance, Health and Education. Sarma is also the Convenor of the North-East Democratic Alliance, a BJP led alliance of regional parties in the Northeast.

Digbijoy Ghose

Digbijoy Ghose

Total 32 Posts. View Posts

About us

In the age of print and electronic media, the veracity of news need a bias-free enterprise/ initiation. Tedious news bytes no longer accrue the common people’s attention. With an objective to delineate the inside news from global corners, “BARTALIPI DIGITAL” has entered the ground of digital journalism. The title blend itself is self-explanatory of its target and aim. Features, newsflash all synced in one platform thereby, gives a promising aura to the netizens of Barak valley. BARTALIPI DIGITAL hence, vows to meet the digital balance which will mark it off as a news organization in the era of digital evolution..

Follow Us